Last Modified: Oct 06, 2026
Affected Product(s):
BIG-IP LTM
Known Affected Versions:
15.0.0, 15.0.1, 15.0.1.1, 15.0.1.2, 15.0.1.3, 15.0.1.4, 15.1.0, 15.1.0.1, 15.1.0.2, 15.1.0.3, 15.1.0.4, 15.1.0.5, 15.1.1, 15.1.2, 15.1.2.1, 15.1.3, 15.1.3.1, 15.1.4, 15.1.4.1, 15.1.5, 15.1.5.1, 15.1.6, 15.1.6.1, 15.1.7, 15.1.8, 15.1.8.1, 15.1.8.2, 15.1.9, 15.1.9.1, 15.1.10, 15.1.10.2, 15.1.10.3, 15.1.10.4, 15.1.10.5, 15.1.10.6, 15.1.10.7, 15.1.10.8, 16.0.0, 16.0.0.1, 16.0.1, 16.0.1.1, 16.0.1.2, 16.1.0, 16.1.1, 16.1.2, 16.1.2.1, 16.1.2.2, 16.1.3, 16.1.3.1, 16.1.3.2, 16.1.3.3, 16.1.3.4, 16.1.3.5, 16.1.4, 16.1.4.1, 16.1.4.2, 16.1.4.3, 16.1.5, 16.1.5.1, 16.1.5.2, 16.1.6, 16.1.6.1, 17.0.0, 17.0.0.1, 17.0.0.2, 17.1.0, 17.1.0.1, 17.1.0.2, 17.1.0.3, 17.1.1, 17.1.1.1, 17.1.1.2, 17.1.1.3, 17.1.1.4, 17.1.2, 17.1.2.1, 17.1.2.2, 17.1.3, 17.1.3.1, 17.1.3.2, 17.1.3.4, 17.1.3.5
Opened: Jun 05, 2025 Severity: 3-Major
In the TCP profile GUI, the "SYN Challenge Handling" field incorrectly reverts to "Nominal" after clicking Update a second time, even though the intended setting was "Challenge and Remember" (or "Disable Challenges"). The audit log confirms that the internal syncookie setting controlling this option is toggled off unexpectedly on the second Update, even though no user change was made to the field
The selected SYN Challenge Handling option is silently lost and reverts to "Nominal" after a second Update, causing the TCP profile to run with unintended SYN cookie settings
- Navigate to Local Traffic :: Profiles :: Protocol :: TCP - Set "SYN Challenge Handling" to "Challenge and Remember" (or "Disable Challenges") and click Update - Click Update a second time without changing the field
Verify the "SYN Challenge Handling" value after each Update and avoid submitting the form a second time without re-selecting the desired option
None