Last Modified: Apr 10, 2019
Opened: Sep 11, 2013
If you create an application in a symmetric sync folder by selecting symmetric mode and selecting the sync folder, but then select a policy outside of the symmetric sync folder, validation will be thrown telling you that you've made a mistake, however, you will not be able to correct your mistake. If you attempt to correct your mistake by selecting the proper policy and clicking save right after seeing the validation error, you will end up with a non-functional application because it will create the app with symmetric mode selected, but no symmetric sync folder.
Impact of this issue is minimal because you can just attempt to re-create the application from scratch.
You will see this condition on all 11.4.1 systems if you have AAM licensed, provisioned, and are attempting to create a Symmetric Deployment.
If the validation error is seen on the application screen by accidentally setting a symmetric folder on the application, but neglecting to select a symmetric policy, do not simply correct the app by selecting the proper policy and clicking save; instead navigate back to the main Web Application > Applications screen and re-create the Application from scratch.