Last Modified: Nov 07, 2022
See more info
Known Affected Versions:
11.4.1, 11.5.0, 11.5.1, 11.5.1 HF1, 11.5.1 HF10, 11.5.1 HF11, 11.5.1 HF2, 11.5.1 HF3, 11.5.1 HF4, 11.5.1 HF5, 11.5.1 HF6, 11.5.1 HF7, 11.5.1 HF8, 11.5.1 HF9, 11.5.10, 11.5.2, 11.5.2 HF1, 11.5.3, 11.5.3 HF1, 11.5.3 HF2
Opened: Apr 07, 2014
Related Article: K17210
When an admin changes a user's password, the contents of the home directory are purged, that is, the system deletes some or all of the files in that user's home directory.
Some or all of the files in that user's home directory are deleted.
This happens whenever a user's password is modified. Can also be triggered by an upgrade from 10.x.
This issue has no workaround for the basic case at this time. However, when this is caused by a 10.x-to-11.x upgrade, the original files can be recovered by booting back into the 10.x boot location and copying them off the system (or by extracting them from a UCS, or by mounting the root lvm volume from the previous boot location).
On password change by an admin user for a user, the home directory of the user is left intact.