Bug ID 462315: When a single partition is saved, configuration is appended to the file instead of overwriting it.

Last Modified: Apr 10, 2019

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP All(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.5.0, 11.5.1, 11.5.1 HF1, 11.5.1 HF10, 11.5.1 HF11, 11.5.1 HF2, 11.5.1 HF3, 11.5.1 HF4, 11.5.1 HF5

Fixed In:
11.6.0, 11.5.1 HF6

Opened: May 14, 2014
Severity: 2-Critical

Symptoms

When a single partition is saved (that is, the 'partitions { p1 }' option on the 'save sys config' command is set, the configuration files ('/config/partitions/p1/bigip*.conf') are appended to, rather than overwritten as they should be.

Impact

The generated configuration may fail to load.

Conditions

This does not apply when all partitions are being saved ('save sys config' without explicitly specifying a partition list).

Workaround

Save all partitions at once.

Fix Information

Saving a single partition out of the configuration ('save sys config' with the 'partitions { p1 }' option) now writes the configuration file properly. It previously appended to the file but now overwrites it as it should.

Behavior Change