Bug ID 487669: Software upgrade in vCMP guest may stay get stuck with "waiting for product image" status despite image being present

Last Modified: Mar 17, 2021

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP vCMP(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.6.0, 11.6.0 HF1, 11.6.0 HF2, 11.6.0 HF3, 11.6.0 HF4, 11.6.0 HF5, 11.6.0 HF6, 11.6.0 HF7, 11.6.0 HF8, 11.6.1, 11.6.1 HF1, 11.6.1 HF2, 11.6.2, 11.6.2 HF1, 11.6.3, 11.6.3.1, 11.6.3.2, 11.6.3.3, 11.6.3.4, 11.6.4, 11.6.5, 11.6.5.1, 11.6.5.2, 11.6.5.3

Fixed In:
12.0.0

Opened: Oct 30, 2014
Severity: 4-Minor

Symptoms

In the rare case that a particular ISO image exists both on the vCMP host and vCMP guest and is then deleted from either the host or the guest, starting an install inside the guest using that image will result in the install becoming stuck with the "waiting for product image" status. Note that when deleting the image from the host, the guest should then still be able to install the image that exists on its local file system, and when deleting the image from the guest, the guest should still be able to install the image from the host (E.g. using the "tmsh install sys block-device-image image_name command). However, in either case, having deleted the image from either the host or the guest leaves the guest system thinking that neither image exists, and thus the install process is unable to find the image that was not deleted.

Impact

The install process will remain stuck inside the guest until the workaround is performed.

Conditions

This issue will only occur on vCMP guests and only when the same ISO image has been copied to both the host and guest, one of the images is deleted, and install of the remaining image is attempted.

Workaround

To work around this issue, delete the remaining image from either the host or the guest and then re-copy the image to the host and/or the guest. The install process should then proceed.

Fix Information

Deleting the image from either the host or the guest no longer causes the guest system to lose track of the image that wasn't delete. Therefore, if the image is deleted from the guest, the guest is still able to install the image from the host, and vice versa.

Behavior Change