Bug ID 491371: CMI: Manual sync does not allow overwrite of 'newer' ASM config

Last Modified: Apr 10, 2019

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP ASM(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.4.1, 11.5.1, 11.5.1 HF1, 11.5.1 HF10, 11.5.1 HF11, 11.5.1 HF2, 11.5.1 HF3, 11.5.1 HF4, 11.5.1 HF5, 11.5.1 HF6, 11.5.1 HF7, 11.5.1 HF8, 11.5.1 HF9, 11.5.2, 11.5.2 HF1, 11.5.3, 11.5.3 HF1, 11.5.3 HF2, 11.6.0, 11.6.0 HF1, 11.6.0 HF2, 11.6.0 HF3, 11.6.0 HF4, 11.6.0 HF5, 11.6.0 HF6, 11.6.0 HF7, 11.6.0 HF8

Fixed In:
12.0.0, 11.6.1, 11.5.4

Opened: Nov 18, 2014
Severity: 3-Major
Related AskF5 Article:
K17285

Symptoms

ASM Sync was designed to only request the ASM portion of the configuration if it recognizes that a peer has a newer configuration. This precludes the ability to 'roll back' changes on a device by pushing from the peer that still has the older configuration.

Impact

User is unable to 'roll back' changes on a device by pushing from the peer that has an older configuration.

Conditions

Devices are set up in a Manual Sync ASM-enabled group.

Workaround

Make a spurious change on the device that has an older config and then push the changes to the peer.

Fix Information

An older ASM configuration can now be manually pushed to a peer in a device group.

Behavior Change