Bug ID 498782: Config snapshots are deleted when failover happens

Last Modified: Feb 13, 2019

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP APM(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.4.1, 11.5.0, 11.5.1, 11.5.1 HF1, 11.5.1 HF10, 11.5.1 HF11, 11.5.1 HF2, 11.5.1 HF3, 11.5.1 HF4, 11.5.1 HF5, 11.5.1 HF6, 11.5.1 HF7, 11.5.1 HF8, 11.5.1 HF9, 11.5.2, 11.5.2 HF1, 11.5.3, 11.5.3 HF1, 11.6.0, 11.6.0 HF1, 11.6.0 HF2, 11.6.0 HF3, 11.6.0 HF4

Fixed In:
12.0.0, 11.6.0 HF5, 11.5.3 HF2, 11.4.1 HF9

Opened: Dec 29, 2014
Severity: 3-Major
Related AskF5 Article:
K17104

Symptoms

When failover occurs, the config snapshots on the new active node might be deleted during the HA state transition. As a result, a user might encounter one of the errors below: 1. Login failure/denied. 2. Some webtop resources are missing after successful login.

Impact

User cannot login or access some resources after login.

Conditions

When the standby node switches to active.

Workaround

Restart APD by running the command: bigstart restart apd.

Fix Information

Now APD uses a short time interval for periodic checking of config snapshots right after failover happens. If config snapshots are found to be missing, APD recreates them. After a few such cycles, APD reverts to using a long time interval for the check.

Behavior Change