Bug ID 504917: In ASM Manual Sync Only group, policies do not stay deleted or inactive on secondary after sync is pushed

Last Modified: Nov 07, 2022

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP ASM(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.5.1, 11.5.1 HF1, 11.5.1 HF10, 11.5.1 HF11, 11.5.1 HF2, 11.5.1 HF3, 11.5.1 HF4, 11.5.1 HF5, 11.5.1 HF6, 11.5.1 HF7, 11.5.1 HF8, 11.5.1 HF9, 11.5.10, 11.5.2, 11.5.2 HF1, 11.5.3, 11.5.3 HF1, 11.5.3 HF2, 11.5.4, 11.5.4 HF1, 11.5.4 HF2, 11.5.4 HF3, 11.5.4 HF4, 11.5.5, 11.6.0, 11.6.0 HF1, 11.6.0 HF2, 11.6.0 HF3, 11.6.0 HF4, 11.6.0 HF5, 11.6.0 HF6, 11.6.0 HF7, 11.6.0 HF8, 11.6.1, 11.6.1 HF1, 11.6.1 HF2, 11.6.2, 11.6.2 HF1, 11.6.3, 11.6.3.1

Fixed In:
12.0.0, 11.6.3.2, 11.5.6

Opened: Feb 05, 2015
Severity: 3-Major

Symptoms

An inactive ASM policy on a sync target is suddenly re-activated.

Impact

If the user deactivates or deletes a policy on one device and then pushes the ASM config to the other device, the policies will end up being reactivated (or recreated as a default policy) on the other device.

Conditions

This occurs when ASM manual sync is configured, and a policy is de-activated or deleted. The time stamp of the policy does not get updated, so the active policy will take precedence and re-activate it.

Workaround

The workaround is to make a change to Policy one of the machines before de-activating it, to update its timestamp to newer than the other machine.

Fix Information

When loading the ASM side of a UCS, ensure that the MCP data is updated correctly for policies that have become inactive or have been deleted.

Behavior Change