Bug ID 541549: AWS AMIs for BIG-IP VE will now have volumes set to be deleted upon instance termination.

Last Modified: Oct 01, 2018

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP VE(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.5.1, 11.5.1 HF1, 11.5.1 HF10, 11.5.1 HF11, 11.5.1 HF2, 11.5.1 HF3, 11.5.1 HF4, 11.5.1 HF5, 11.5.1 HF6, 11.5.1 HF7, 11.5.1 HF8, 11.5.1 HF9, 11.5.2, 11.5.2 HF1, 11.5.3, 11.5.3 HF1, 11.5.3 HF2, 11.5.4, 11.5.4 HF1, 11.5.4 HF2, 11.6.0, 11.6.0 HF1, 11.6.0 HF2, 11.6.0 HF3, 11.6.0 HF4, 11.6.0 HF5, 11.6.0 HF6, 11.6.0 HF7, 11.6.0 HF8, 11.6.1, 11.6.1 HF1, 12.0.0, 12.0.0 HF1, 12.0.0 HF2, 12.0.0 HF3, 12.0.0 HF4, 12.1.0, 12.1.0 HF1, 12.1.0 HF2, 12.1.1, 12.1.1 HF1, 12.1.1 HF2

Fixed In:
13.0.0, 12.1.2, 11.6.1 HF2, 11.5.4 HF3

Opened: Aug 24, 2015
Severity: 3-Major

Symptoms

The default settings of an AMI is not to delete an attached volume of an instance when the instance is terminated. This results in extra effort to delete a volume manually after terminating the instance. If not done always, the orphaned volume causes extra bills.

Impact

Volumes attached to BIG-IP VE instances will be deleted automatically when the instance is terminated. This option is set to be default now. If you want to keep a volume even after terminating a BIG-IP VE instance, you will have to set it to not be deleted upon termination during instance launch in AWS console.

Conditions

A BIG-IP VE is launched from an AMI in the marketplace.

Workaround

None.

Fix Information

A BIG-IP VE AWS image now has the option set such that when an instance is launched out of it, that BIG-IP VE instance will have volumes which are set to be deleted upon termination by default.

Behavior Change

A BIG-IP VE AWS image now has the option set such that when an instance is launched out of it, that BIG-IP VE instance will have volumes which are set to be deleted upon termination by default.