Bug ID 617310: Edge client can fail to upgrade when Always Connected is selected

Last Modified: Aug 19, 2026

Affected Product(s):
BIG-IP Install/Upgrade(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
11.6.1, 11.6.1 hf1, 11.6.1 hf2, 11.6.2, 11.6.2 hf1, 11.6.3, 11.6.3.1, 11.6.3.2, 11.6.3.3, 11.6.3.4, 11.6.4, 11.6.5, 11.6.5.1, 11.6.5.2, 11.6.5.3, 12.0.0, 12.0.0 hf1, 12.0.0 hf2, 12.0.0 hf3, 12.0.0 hf4, 12.1.0, 12.1.0 hf1, 12.1.0 hf2, 12.1.1, 12.1.1 hf1, 12.1.1 hf2, 12.1.2, 12.1.2 hf1, 12.1.2 hf2, 12.1.3, 12.1.3.1, 12.1.3.2, 12.1.3.3, 12.1.3.4, 12.1.3.5, 12.1.3.6, 12.1.3.7, 12.1.4, 12.1.4.1, 12.1.5, 12.1.5.1, 12.1.5.2, 12.1.5.3, 12.1.6

Fixed In:
13.0.0

Opened: Sep 16, 2016

Severity: 2-Critical

Symptoms

Attempt to upgrade from an Edge client version to a current version fails when Always Connected is enabled

Impact

Upgrade fails. Must turn off Always Connected to upgrade client.

Conditions

Always Connected is selected in BIG-IP when upgrading the client.

Workaround

Turn off Always Connected before upgrading.

Fix Information

Edge client now succeeds during upgrade when Always Connected is selected.

Behavior Change

Guides & references

K10134038: F5 Bug Tracker Filter Names and Tips