Bug ID 720081: dhclient.mgmt db variable value will need to be changed before downgrading from this version

Last Modified: Nov 07, 2022

Bug Tracker

Affected Product:  See more info
BIG-IP All, Install/Upgrade(all modules)

Known Affected Versions:
12.0.0, 12.0.0 HF1, 12.0.0 HF2, 12.0.0 HF3, 12.0.0 HF4, 12.1.0, 12.1.0 HF1, 12.1.0 HF2, 12.1.1, 12.1.1 HF1, 12.1.1 HF2, 12.1.2, 12.1.2 HF1, 12.1.2 HF2, 12.1.3, 12.1.3.1, 12.1.3.2, 12.1.3.3, 12.1.3.4, 12.1.3.5, 12.1.3.6, 12.1.3.7, 12.1.4, 12.1.4.1, 12.1.5, 12.1.5.1, 12.1.5.2, 12.1.5.3, 12.1.6, 13.0.0, 13.0.0 HF1, 13.0.0 HF2, 13.0.0 HF3, 13.0.1, 13.1.0, 13.1.0.1, 13.1.0.2, 13.1.0.3, 13.1.0.4, 13.1.0.5, 13.1.0.6, 13.1.0.7, 13.1.0.8, 13.1.1, 13.1.1.2, 13.1.1.3, 13.1.1.4, 13.1.1.5, 13.1.3, 13.1.3.1, 13.1.3.2, 13.1.3.3, 13.1.3.4, 13.1.3.5, 13.1.3.6, 13.1.4, 13.1.4.1, 13.1.5, 13.1.5.1, 14.0.0, 14.0.0.1, 14.0.0.2, 14.0.0.3, 14.0.0.4, 14.0.0.5, 14.0.1, 14.0.1.1

Fixed In:
14.1.0

Opened: May 14, 2018
Severity: 3-Major

Symptoms

Configuration does not load after downgrading. BIG-IP versions earlier than v14.1.0 recognize only 2 values for dhclient.mgmt (enable, disable). In 14.1.0, 2 new values were added to dhclient.mgmt (dhcpv4, dhcpv6). If the configuration uses one of the new values, you cannot downgrade to a version earlier than v14.1.0.

Impact

Config does not load, and BIG-IP system will be inoperative. You can still SSH into the device, however.

Conditions

This occurs when the following conditions are met: -- The BIG-IP system is running v14.1.0 or later. -- The BIG-IP admin has manually changed the dhclient.mgmt value to dhcpv4 or dhcpv6 from the default enable. (To determine the value, you can run the following command: getdb dhclient.mgmt.) -- The configuration has been saved using the command: tmsh save sys config -- Downgrade to any pre-14.1.0 version.

Workaround

To prevent this issue from occurring, before downgrading to any pre-14.1.0 version, follow these steps: 1. Change the dhclient.mgmt value to either 'enable' or 'disable'. 2. Run the following command: save sys config 3. Perform the downgrade. If you have already attempted a downgrade and your configuration is not loading, you can edit the /config/bigip_base.conf file to change the dhclient.mgmt value to enable or disable.

Fix Information

Before downgrading from v14.1.0 to a previous version, change the dhclient.mgmt to either "enable" or "disable". And save sys config.

Behavior Change